“What seems to us as bitter trials are often blessings in disguise” – Oscar Wilde

I recently took a blow to my ego when I didn’t get into the grad program I applied for. At first, I was really crushed. I spoke with some friends who all supported me through the situation, but I realized that I needed to make a mentality switch. When things don’t go the way we plan, I think we lean on the assumption that something better is waiting for us. While I hope this is true, I know I need to be proactively changing my situation to ensure a better future awaits. If we wait for things to come to us, they may not be that what we wish for. I cannot accept defeat, I need to challenge myself to be better. Ego is such a strong part of our psyche, probably the most fragile part of our minds. I need to accept my failure, and separate my failure from myself. When we connect our failures to our own self worth, we lose sight of what really happened. I wasn’t the candidate they wanted, it wasn’t my personality, or my intelligence, I just didn’t fit the mold. Somewhere out there is my mold, I just need to find it and slip in.

One comment

  1. kirstenmcne · March 17, 2013

    I love your optimistic and proactive outlook! You couldn’t be more right. I hate it when people say things like “it wasn’t fate and I’m waiting for my destiny.” It’s just a stupid excuse to wait for things to happen instead of making them happen. I know you’ll find your way and you’ll go for it and when you do, you’ll make it happen!

Leave a Reply

