BBQ blues

I am a huge foodie. Lately, I have been venturing into the BBQ scene. My boyfriend and I went to Stack, a popular BBQ joint in the city (Toronto). I have to say, I wasn’t super enthralled with it. Here is a breakdown of the experience.

Stack

Ordered:

Appy: grilled calamari and mac and cheese

Entree: Pulled pork and brisket sandwiches. Side of slaw

Drinks: One local brewed beer

Price: 70 dollars with tax and tip

Atmosphere:

  • laid back, informal vibe
  • I believe all the tables are booths, but I didn’t see the upstairs
  • not too squishy like some downtown restaurants

Meals:

  • pulled pork. Not very tender, too chunky, and found a HUGE piece of inedible grizzle in my sandwich (nasty)
  • brisket. Tender, a little fatty, not overly impressive
  • Slaw. Nice and vinegary, not a creamy slaw. Pretty enjoyable πŸ™‚

Service:

  • took way too long to be acknowledged by a server
  • brought my meal with sauce I requested to have left off
  • brought quick drink refills
  • friendly and not too in your face

Overall:

  • 6/10. I wouldn’t go back there. I thought my pulled pork was pretty poorly made. Plus, for 35 dollars a person, I can find a way higher quality meal

So, I am back on the BBQ hunt. I might just give up and turn my efforts towards some of my own BBQ. The BBQ season is quickly approaching, I am looking forward to being reunited with my grill πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

