Canadians speak french, eh?

I have always felt a certain level of inadequacy as a Canadian, for not being able to speak French. First of all, French is our second language. I think that alone constitutes why I should learn how to speak it, however, there is another reason that I was persuaded to learn. Recently while on vacation in Amsterdam, my step family was discussing languages, and the fluency of Europeans. It is not to say that all Europeans speak a multitude of languages, but it does seem like that is the case from my experience there. I feel like, not only does everyone speak English, but it seems like everyone has some basic knowledge of a third language as well. It seems to me, that French is a highly spoken third language for many Europeans. So, with all this being said, I have taken it upon myself to learn French. I won’t lie, the process has been slow and painful. I struggle with grammar in the English language, so learning French grammar seems twice as hard. I refuse to give up though, I really want to have some level of fluency in French by the end of this.

In order to learn, I have been using a fantastic website called Duolingo. The website hosts a few different language programs, for free! You can learn French, German, Spanish, Portuguese, or Italian. It helps you to learn basic phrases, numbers, symbols, basically all of the important things you would want to know about a language. It is really helpful because you learn reading, writing and verbal skills.

I think it is a fabulous, comprehensive language tool, and I would highly recommend it! Give it a try, you don’t need to spend any money, just sign up and get started!

Leave a Reply

