Surf and turf

Surf and turf

My family friends and I, recently returned from a trip to Kauai. While we were there, it seemed obligatory that we had some surfing lessons. I don’t mean to brag, but I was actually pretty decent! I think that stemmed from my many years as a snow boarder. However, I will say, I was a little bit terrified before getting in the water. Firstly, the tide was super high, which meant that at any moment you could be swept into a huge wave. Also, I have a constant fear that at any moment while in the ocean, I will be eaten by sharks… (yes i’m irrational) With this being said, the moment I hit the water, all my fears vanished. All I could focus on was trying to get on my board, and how much fun I was having. It is amazing how much we are able to psych ourselves out before trying something new. The best feeling was sitting on my board and realizing that I was completely at ease. Whether or not I had stood up on my board, was almost irrelevant compared to the feeling of success of mastering my fears. I definitely need to get on the surfing bandwagon. Too bad Toronto isn’t exactly the best surf spot. I guesssss I just havee to go back to Hawaii, what a shame!

One comment

  1. Mainland Kamaaina · May 31, 2013

    Surf in Toronto? Might be a little different than Hawaii! Glad you got to try it! Hope you get back soon. Aloha ~

Leave a Reply

