Eat green, save green

Eat green, save green

Living on a students budget in Amsterdam means getting a little bit more creative with food. Whether its working with the bare bones of your kitchen cabinet, or shopping at little markets to score a good price, there are many ways to pinch pennies. One of my go to methods to save, is cutting down on meat. The reality is that meat is expensive. It is the most expensive thing on my grocery list, and Ive realized it adds up quickly. To bring down my costs, I have been trying to eat more vegetarian. I cook with a ton of chic peas, eat eggs and cook up meaty vegetables like eggplant. Cooking without meat has forced me to become more creative with my meals, and I enjoy the challenge. My last dish was a kale salad with avocado and sautéed eggplant. I cooked up some broccoli on the side, just because I like to have more than a one dish meal. It was filling and delicious. If I could afford to eat more meat, I know I would be. I can’t help it, I just love the stuff. But, I will say that eating vegetarian has been fun and tasty. I would definitely recommend cutting down on your meat dishes, and incorporating a little more vegetarian into your life.

2 comments

  1. Maison Bentley Style · November 20, 2013

    Stews, slow cooked with the difficult not so much wanted cuts of meat?…also yuuuum. But I’m with you – I’ve also started cooking more vegetarian x

    • carlybe · November 20, 2013

      So true! I also happen to crave stews the most during winter 🙂

Leave a Reply

