Raw brownies

Raw brownies

After I tried out an avocado based cookie recipe, I developed an interest in other alternative baking styles. So far, my go to site for recipe ideas is Bubble Girl Bakes. She has a great list of both savoury and sweet recipe ideas for the dairy free, gluten free, raw, or vegan chef. I was particularly drawn in by a raw vegan brownie recipe. Now, I’m not vegan. So I decided to add some chocolate sprinkles to my recipe, but obviously it can be done without. She recommends cocoa nibs, but after some research I found out that they are very bitter, and carry only a faint residue of chocolate flavour. Hence why I opted for the sprinkles. I used her recipe as a guideline, and made some revisions to it as I went. My version is as follows,

about 3 cups of pitted dates (I used the Medjool dates, very plump and flavourful)
2 big splashes of dairy free milk (I used Almond)
half a cup of chocolate sprinkles
half a cup of shredded coconut
two big spoonfuls of coconut oil
1 cup of cocoa powder
a pinch of salt
and a splash of vanilla (I didn’t have any vanilla, but her recipe recommends it and I would have used it if I did)

and then mix that all up in a food processor until it turns into a big ball. Unfortunately, I did not have access to a food processor. So I played a long annoying game of stop and go mixing with a stand mixer that continuously got clogged up by the dates 😦 After that, take some parchment paper and line a small dish to help get a nice shape for your brownies. Pat the mixture into the dish, and refrigerate for 15-20 minutes. After I took them out, I added a couple extra sprinkles on top, and sliced them up to serve. They are surprisingly good. I have to say, I was a little skeptical about the recipe, but it is definitely a must try!

One comment

  1. interesting!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

