Good Samaritan

The biking culture is probably one of the best features of the Netherlands. I am absolutely hooked. Like most Dutch people, I bike to work every morning. I have a really bad habit of overpassing people while on my bike. I don’t know why, but I like to have a clear path in front of me. I think karma came to get me this morning because while I was trying to pass a girl my chain fell off. I have only had my chain fall off one other time since I have been here, and I am not particularly skilled in putting it back on. So here I am on the side of the bike path perched like a stupid squirrel trying to figure out how to get my chain back on. Flash forward 15 mins and greased black hands, I am still unable to get my chain on. Then, a gentleman comes riding back on the wrong side of the bike bath and tells me that he saw me struggling and was here to help! Within 2 mins he had my chain back on and I was on my way to work. The whole time that he was putting my chain on I couldn’t help but think what a wonderful gesture this was. He was probably going to be late for where he was going, and his hands would be covered in bike grease, but he still stopped to help me out. It really made me happy to know that good people still exist that are willing to put aside their own time to help out a stranger. I will definitely be paying forward his random act of kindness! Try to remember that the next time you see someone struggling. It may be a little time lost from your own day, but it will make a world of difference to the person you help. 

Leave a Reply

