Too much fruit? Crumble time

I went on a mini baking spree the other day. I saw that I had wayyy too many ripe bananas, so I turned those bad boys into some banana muffins. It wasn’t only the bananas that were on the ripe end of things, all of the wild peaches were on their last days. A heaping pile of peaches could only mean one thing, peach crumble! Seriously, crumbles are the easiest dessert on the planet. Also, it is super hard to make one that is not delicious. Its just a pile of fruit covered with butter, sugar, oats and flour. Where can you possibly go wrong with this combination? Easy answer, it is literally impossible. The key to a good crumble is making sure you have the right ratio of fruit to topping. I personally prefer more topping than fruit. Call me a fatty patty, but the mixture on top is clearly the winner in this group. So I always make sure that I have a hearty pile of crumble for the top of my fruit. Peaches are a great option for a crumble because they hold their texture well. I have also used apples, plums, and berries. All are amazing, but I think peach is particularly tasty. One thing I did with this crumble that I don’t usually do was mix the fruit in a bit of maple syrup before lining them in the dish. It brought out some more sweetness in the peaches, and it added a really nice unexpected flavour. Taking pictures of crumbles is a waste of time. They never capture the deliciousness. Regardless, here is a snap of my crumble before it hit the oven.ย IMG_4441

2 comments

  1. tinkerbelle86 · August 27, 2014

    Pictures never do it, do they? I make a fallfruits recipe with a few heads of star anise in, and it adds such a delicious flavour. Love crumble!

    • carlybe · August 28, 2014

      That sounds amazing! I will have to give that a try one day ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

