Summer breeze and fall foods

The Netherlands is currently enjoying a burst of warm weather. Im sure this will be short lived, so I have been doing my best to get outside as much as possible. Today, my dad, stepmom and I took the loveliest bike ride through an old village along the Amstel river. The village we visited is called Ouderkerk, and it has homes that date back to the 17th century. It might be one of my favourite spots in Holland. It is echt gezellig Β  Β – a common Dutch term, which is not easily translated, but can mean something like cozy, beautiful and charming.Β From there, we continued along the Amstel until we stumbled upon a pumpkin farm! The woman who owned it was giving out samples of fresh pumpkin soup, so we had to stop. Not only was the soup amazing, but we took home some little pumpkins so we could experiment with our own recipes. Today was perfect. Family, food and adventure.

IMG_5600 IMG_5601

 

4 comments

  1. crafty little coco · September 20, 2014

    Beautiful pumpkins!!! Such a cute little stand. I wish I could have had some of that soup.

    • carlybe · September 21, 2014

      Im sure you would have loved it too πŸ™‚

  2. Feline Creatures · September 20, 2014

    Love your maxi dress. The backdrop reminds me that Fall is right around the corner πŸ™‚ – Lena

    Felinecreatures.com

    • carlybe · September 21, 2014

      I know! I can’t wait πŸ™‚ Fall is one of my favourite seasons.

Leave a Reply

